Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Place-names Standardisation Panel

The Welsh Language Commissioner’s Place-names Standardisation Panel includes specialists in the fields of place-names and Welsh orthography. The Panel follows specific guidelines to form its recommendations on the standard forms of place-names and provides the Commissioner with independent advice on related matters.
Dr Dylan Foster Evans
Dylan received his education at Ysgol Uwchradd Tywyn and at Pembroke College, Cambridge, before completing a PhD at University of Wales College, Aberystwyth, on the work of the poet Rhys Goch Eryri. He was a research fellow at the University of Wales’ Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies in Aberystwyth before being appointed to the School of Welsh at Cardiff University where he is head of the school since 2017. Dylan specialises in the Welsh culture of the Middle Ages and in the Welsh language in south-east Wales and regularly delivers public lectures on these topics. Another of his interests is heritage and the Welsh language: he has developed pioneering provision for Cardiff University students exploring how modern society deals with ‘intangible heritage’, including place-names. He is member of the Welsh Place-names Society committee and the South Wales Record Society committee and has been made a Fellow of The Learned Society of Wales.

Gareth A. Bevan
Gareth lectured at the Welsh department of North Wales University College, Bangor, between 1971 and 1975 under Professor G. Melville Richards and Professor Bedwyr Lewis Jones, who both encouraged his interest in place-names. He spent the rest of his career as Editor of Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru (A dictionary of the Welsh Language). His predecessor was R. J. Thomas, from whom he inherited the work of advising the Ordnance Survey on Welsh place-names on behalf of the University of Wales’ Board of Celtic Studies. After retiring he became an Editorial Consultant for the Dictionary, before becoming a Consulting Editor.
Gareth was a member of the Welsh Language Board’s Terminology Standardisation Team and Place-name Standardisation Team. He was editor of the Welsh Place-names Society’s newsletter and is now responsible for the society’s website. Gareth is an active member of the Aberaeron Society, researching and lecturing on local place-names. He has also translated a book on the history of the town.

Dr G. Angharad Fychan
Angharad has been interested in the field of place-names since her college days where she submitted a dissertation on the place-names of Trefeurig parish as part of her BA degree (1993). She then studied for a doctorate on the place-names of the northern cantref of Buellt (2001). She is now Senior Editor of Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru (A dictionary of the Welsh language) and is a founder and Secretary of the Welsh place-names Society. Angharad has entertained various societies with lectures on place-names, including the Welsh Place-names Society, the Society for Name Studies in Britain and Ireland and the Ceredigion Historical Society. She has also contributed a monthly column on place-names in the community newspaper, Y Tincer, since 2013.

Professor Emeritus Hywel Wyn Owen
Before his retirement, Hywel was Director of the Place-name Research Centre at Bangor University. He is especially interested in place-names that demonstrate the influence of both Welsh and English on each other and he is author of many books that trace the origins and meanings of place-names. His most noted publications in the field include Hanes Enwau Lleoedd (Centre for Educational Studies, Aberystwyth, 1990), The Place-Names of East Flintshire (University of Wales Press, 1994), The Place-Names of Wales (University of Wales Press, 1998, and a revised edition in 2015), Dictionary of the Place-Names of Wales jointly with Richard Morgan (Gwasg Gomer, 2007 and reprinted in 2008), and Place-Names of Flintshire jointly with the late Ken Lloyd Gruffydd (University of Wales Press, 2017). Hywel is one of the founders of the Welsh Place-names Society, he is Honorary Vice-president of the English Place-name Society and former President of the Society for Name Studies in Britain and Ireland.

Geraint Sion Williams
Geraint has worked for the Welsh Government Translation Service since it was established in 2005 and worked for the National Assembly Translation Service between 2000 and 2005. Since 2015, he is the Government Translation Service’s Terminologist and is responsible for developing their internal processes for terminology standardisation. He has been involved in the work of standardising place-names since 2002, representing the Welsh Government on the Welsh Language Commissioner’s Place-name Standardisation Panel, and prior to that the Welsh Language Board’s Place-name Standardisation Team. Geraint provides comments and expertise on behalf of a national institution that is one of the main users of place-names in both languages. 
Professor Ann Parry Owen
Ann was educated at Ysgol Dinas Brân, Llangollen, and at the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, where she graduated in Welsh before gaining a doctorate for her study of the poetry of Cynddelw Brydydd Mawr (c.1155-c.1190). She is a member of staff at the Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies where she has contributed to many research projects relating to medieval Welsh poetry. Ann is the General Editor of the Beirdd yr Uchelwyr (Poets of the Nobility) Series and of the Guto'r Glyn Website. She is also a Senior Editor of Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru (A dictionary of the Welsh language), the Editor of the Welsh Place-name Society Bulletin and a member of that society’s committee. Ann specializes in Welsh language and grammar as well as medieval Welsh poetry and has been made a Fellow of The Learned Society of Wales.

By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie Policy